Sadie wins prestigious award

Eben Sadie last night, at ProWein in Germany, achieved the substantial honour of being the winner of the 2017 Winemakers’ Winemaker Award. The winner is chosen by winemakers who are Masters of Wine, plus previous winners. As the award has been made since 2011, recognising “0utstanding achievement in the field of winemaking”, there are six of these, and a remarkably prestigious lot they are: Peter Sisseck (2011), Peter Gago (2012), Paul Draper (2013), Anne-Claude Leflaive (d) (2014), Egon Muller (2015) and Alvaro Palacios (2016).

Eben will need no introduction to readers of this blog, but Jane Masters MW, Chairman of the Institute of Masters of Wine said, “Eben’s determined search to produce outstanding wines has put Swartland and South Africa on the map. I am delighted that the Master of Wine Winemakers have rewarded his dedication and talent – it’s truly well deserved.”

Following on from Andrea Mullineux being made Wine Enthusiast Winemaker of the year, it’s being a good time for recognition for the Swartland and its winemakers. Next up?

Eben, no stranger to recognition, was gratified enough by this one (he was sworn to secrecy about it) to fly to Germany. He tells me: “Just came up for a day and a half. Need to get back to finish off the harvest!”

One thought on “Sadie wins prestigious award

  1. I do hope the Swartland farmers (and the municipality) who seem determined to sell off what they consider the area’s gold-bearing sand mines, will now realise the real gold is to be found in the old vines and people like Eben as well as Andrea Mullineux & others who turn them into wine. Bravo, Eben on your latest achievement; thoroughly deserved.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Are you human? *